Data already gathered by the Airship division of the Meteorological Office appear to indicate that the actual route chosen may vary between very wide limits. Six typical routes convenient from the navigational point of view have been chosen, 3 northerly and 3 southerly. At this season of the year the probability is that one of the northerly routes will offer the quickest and most favourable outward passage.

The most northerly route is a great circle course via the North of Ireland to a point south of Cape Farewell, Greenland, a Mercator course to Belle Isle, across Labrador and along the St. Lawrence to St. Hubert. The distance by this route is approximately 3,385 statute miles (2,937 nautical miles).

The next route is a great circlie course from the north of Ireland to Belle Isle and thence as in the first route to the Canadian base. The distance is approximately 3,250 miles (2,831 nautical miles). The third northerly route is via the S.W. of Ireland and thence to Belle Isle by a great circle course and on to St. Hubert. The mileage is 3,300 (2,850 nautical miles).

The southerly routes are in each case much longer. One is via Cape Race and the other two by way of the Azores. It should not be overlooked in considering routes for airships, that there is some point in the old adage that the longest way round may be the shortest in the end.

Officials, Crew and Passengers.

The following officials from the the Royal Airship Works, Cardington, will be on board:-

Wing Commander R.B.B.Colmore, O.B.E. Director of Airship Development.
Major G.H.Scott, C.B.E, A.F.C. Assistant Director (Flying) Officer in charge of Flight
and Mr. F.M, McWade A.I.D. Inspector

The officers of R100 are as follows :-0

S/Ldr.R.S.Booth. A.F.C. Captain
S/Ldr. .E.L.Johnston, O.B.E., A.F.C. Navigator.
Captain G.F.Meager, A.F.C. 1st Officer
F/O M.H. Steff, and S/Ldr A.H. Wann R.A.F. Supernumerary Officer
Mr M.A. Giblett, M.S.c (Superintendent for the Airship Division, Meteorological Officer) will act as Meteorlogical Officer.

Members of the crew are :-

Chief Coxswain:- F/Sgt.T.Greenstreet.
Asst. Coxswains :- L.A. Moncrieff, G.E. Long, T.Hobbs
Riggers:- C.Broughton, G.G.Cutts, R.L.Deverell, C.Flatters, C.H.Rumsby, G.R.Scott, F.Williams, B. A.Wiseman.
Foreman Engineer:- W. Angus.
Chargehand Engineers :- N.Mann; A.F.Stupple, G.Watts.
Engineers :- R.Ball, H.W.Clark, H.Cumley, F.Gaye. L.A.Hunt, J.Jowitt, D.Lelliott, H.Millward, J.M.Sturgeon.
W/T Chargehand:-S. Keeley
W/T Operators:- G.H.Atkins, A.Disley.
Chief. Steward:- A.H. Savidge.
Stewards:- .F.Hodnett, J.F Meegan.
Clerk to Capt: A.Eldridge.

The flying crew therefore consist of five officers and 32 men, which is normal for a two watch crew. Notes regarding the officials and crews are given in pages 5 to 8.

Lieut.Commander Sir C.Dennistoun Burney, Managing Director and Mr N.S. Norway of the constructing firm, and Lt. Comdr R St J. Prentice, R.N. from H.M. Aircraft carrier "Corrageous", representing the Admiralty, will also travel by Air Ministry invitation. The total number on board (unless there are additions later) will be 44.

Back to Index